Tips for the Perfect Aztec Nail Art!

 

aztec nailsThe Aztec pattern has been all the rage recently! I’ve seen adorable iPhone cases, leggings, and bodycon dresses! Every time I see this unique print I always think how cool it would look on my nails. But I’ve always been hesitant to try: I know I don’t have the sturdiest of hands, and how on Earth am I supposed to get these intricate designs on my right hand?! (I’m a lefty, by the way!) But last night, with nothing to do, I decided to give it a try.

I was pretty impressed with my results! I have to be honest, it was extremely time consuming, and I recruited my mom to paint my right hand, but it was totally worth it. Although there is definite room for improvement, I was impressed with the end result.

To start, I picked five colors. I would suggest that if you are trying this out for the first time, try not to pick too many colors! The more intricate you try to make it, the more frustrated you will get if you are not experienced (trust me!). With the accent nailΒ still being a hit (a huge thank you to Hanna, aka Ashley Benson, from Pretty Little Liars for getting me into this trend) I decided to paint all of my nails Orly’s Lollipop (a steal at CVS, it was 50% off!), except for my ring finger, which I painted Orly’s Passion Fruit (also 50% off!). The other colors I used

My supplies!
My supplies!

was OPI’s Pink-ing of You, N.Y.C.’s String of Pearls, and Sally Hanson’s Nail Art Pen in black! The nail art pen was a definite must; my tip to you is to use nail colors with thin brushes! If you don’t have any of those (like myself), Β use a couple of wooden toothpicks!

I think one of my favorite parts about this design is that every nail can be completely different, and there is no right and wrong! This gave me the opportunity to let my creative mind flow. Here are some of my tips to help you create nails you’ll want to show off!

1. Make sure your nails are long. This design has a lot of small details, so the bigger your work space the easier you can fit it all in without your nail looking too crowded. I was blessed with long nail beds, but if you weren’t, don’t fret! Just try not to bite your nails for a week or two, and let them grow!

2. Have a well-lit workspace with tons of newspapers under you! Paper towels work too, but with all the different nail polishes, I found they were going all over the place. Luckily, I had plenty of magazines under my pretty little nails, to avoid getting it all over my dining room table! (My mom wouldn’t of been too happy with that one…)

3. Always start with less. You can always add more polish to your nail! It’s super frustrating when you accidentally plop too much polish on your nail, and you have to start all over again.

4. Don’t get too over your head! I said it earlier, but try to keep it as simple as possible if you’re new at nail art!

5. Ask for help! If you don’t think you can paint your non-dominant hand, ask a friend or family member for help. I recruited my mom, and it was great bonding time between the two of us!

6. Don’t give up! I had to repaint some of my nails two or three times. But don’t give up! You’re spending a lot of time on your nails, don’t let it go to waste!

Do you like the aztec design? What’s your favorite print that you’d love to see on your nails? Let me know, and I will try to do a tutorial for it!

12 thoughts on “Tips for the Perfect Aztec Nail Art!

  1. Love this post! πŸ™‚ I’ve been wanting to try aztec nails for ages too but have been worried about messing them up with my unsteady hands haha! But after reading this I think I’ll definitely have to give them a try soon! πŸ™‚

    Emma πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚ You definitely should! The toothpicks were a really great tool to use to get those small details! And don’t worry about if they aren’t perfect, practice makes perfect!

Leave a Reply

