Haircut Catastrophe!

So I just experienced every girl’s worst nightmare: a bad haircut. I hate haircuts for the sole reason that I absolutely love my long hair, and hairdressers always seem to want to cut it. It’s like pulling teeth to get me to go to the salon, and experiences like today only further my hate of haircuts. When I first saw the end product, I thought it was the end of the world. I burst into tears the second I got into my car, and I haven’t stopped fussing in the mirror about it. I know it’s going to take a couple of weeks for the haircut to start to grow on me (catch my pun?), but for now I guess I’m stuck with it.

It all started with the fact that I couldn’t go to my regular hairdresser. Unfortunately, she was diagnosed with breast cancer, and is undergoing chemotherapy. I tried to wait as long as I could for my hairdresser, but my hair got to it’s worst point yet. My side bangs were no longer bangs, my hair was down almost to my butt, and the ends were all split. Here’s my before shot:

The before shot
The before shot

I asked the new hairdresser for a trim (no more than two inches off the longest pieces), and for side swept bangs that fell naturally into layers. I couldn’t stress enough that I like to keep my hair very long. Well, this is what I ended up with (don’t mind my pouty face, I was still very upset):

The after shot
The after shot

As you can see, it is significantly shorter than just a trim. Instead of the bangs being side swept, they’re stuck hanging over my eye. I think the girl realized she made a mistake, since she curled my hair for free. I wish she would’ve asked, because curling it only made it shorter, so I was pulling on my hair to make those curls come out. The picture was taken with most of the curls brushed out, but not fully. I couldn’t wait to get home and wash them out.

I know that my haircut isn’t a total catastrophe, because it’s an okay cut, just not what I wanted. Why tell the hairdresser what I want if she was going to do her own thing anyways? The tears are definitely over, but getting used to the shorter hair will take much more time. My tip? Find a hairdresser you like, and stick with her for as long as you can!!

Ever have a hair catastrophe? What happened, and how did you get over it? Comment below and let me know!

6 thoughts on “Haircut Catastrophe!

  1. Oh no. I’m in exact same situation. I just moved to hk, and I haven’t had a haircut for 10 months, still trying find excuses not to go, just because I fear too much being chopped off.

Leave a Reply

