Going Somewhere? Some Tips to Help Packing!

Hi readers! It’s been a very busy day for me, because I have been trying to pack for my trip to San Francisco! I have never been to the west coast before, and I am thrilled to have the opportunity to go with some of my family. While I am away, I hope you will enjoy my outfit of the day and makeup of the day posts I will write every single day! Be on the lookout for them, I leave on Tuesday! But while I was packing, I began thinking how difficult it has for me to pack in the past. That’s why I want to share some of my tips to you that I’ve learned over the years, to ensure you make the best of your trip!

  1. Check the weather! This might be obvious for some, but I’ve talked to some friends who don’t even check the weather of their destination before they travel. Just because you picture Florida to be sunny and 85 degrees everyday for a week, doesn’t mean that it isn’t going to rain one day.
  2. Pack an outfit for freak weather! Even if it isn’t going to rain or be cold one day, you never know how the weather can turn! So I usually pack an outfit that works for rain or a windy day. It’s better to be safe than sorry!
  3. Don’t wait until last minute! It’s extremely hard not to, but packing last minute is super stressful. If you pack the night before a vacation, that is usually when you forget something at home or you overpack and end up wasting money at the airport because your bag is too heavy. Try packing a little bit everyday, so you don’t have to take a huge chunk out of one day!
  4. Try on your outfits! Don’t just pack pieces you hope will go together nicely. If you haven’t worn your printed leggings with your new crop top yet, don’t just assume it’ll work. It’s tedious, I know, but wouldn’t you rather have to try to come up with a new outfit at home with all your clothes, rather than when you’re on vacation and only have a tiny suitcase?
  5. Make lists! And cross off what you pack as you go. It’s so helpful to make a list, especially with people you are traveling with. It helps you so you don’t forget the little things, like sunglasses, shampoo, soap, etc.
  6. Be reasonable! It’s okay to pack yourself one or two extra outfits, because you never know what can happen, but don’t try fitting your entire wardrobe into a couple of suitcases. When you’re on vacation, you don’t want to spend time trying on ten different outfits to see which one you like best; you’re going to want to be out exploring and having fun!
  7. Ask for help!Β I hate making decisions about my outfits over a week in advance, so I don’t know which outfits to bring and which not to. My mom, on the other hand, is great at reasoning and ruling out options, so I will be recruiting help from her tonight!
  8. When it comes to last minute items, keep them together! Obviously I can’t pack my makeup, contact solution, and my toiletries tonight, I still need to use them until I leave. But if you start to get them ready, for example, keeping them together in the same place or making a list you’ll check before you leave, you won’t be rushing around the morning of your flight freaking out!

Those are some of my tips that I have been trying to follow! Do you have any packing tricks of your own? Or are you going anywhere exciting this summer? Comment below and let me know!

14 thoughts on “Going Somewhere? Some Tips to Help Packing!

  1. Loved your list for packing. I always overpack for my trips,so that’s one thing I will be working on this summer for our family trip to Blue Ridge,GA. I’m really excited because it’s up in the mountains,and we are going white water rafting and horse back riding and zip-lining and a bunch of other fun stuff. Also,one of my tips is, I try to put the most important stuff that I will need first at the top of the suitcase,and less needed stuff,like those “inclement weather” clothes, at the bottom so I won’t have to dig down to the bottom to get my stuff out.

    XOXO,
    Brinka
    http://www.beautybybrinka.wordpress.com

    1. That sounds like so much fun!! I hope you blog about it- I want to hear all about it! That’s such a great tip! Digging through your suitcase can wrinkle all your other clothes! Thanks for the the input!! πŸ™‚

      1. Yeah I’m definitely going to be blogging about it! I can’t wait to see everything you blog about from your trip! And yeah wrinkles clothes are the worst!

      2. I live in New York and Massachusetts! New York is where I’m from, but I go to school and have an apartment in MA πŸ™‚ It’s my first time going to Cali, but it will not be my last! What about you; where do you live?

      3. I live in Georgia,which is on the opposite side of the country from Cali! But I am determined to go there one day. I am also considering living there one day if I really like it! So let me know how you like San Fransisco, and you should totes do a blog post about all the cool places you visited and how you liked them! It’d be really cool to see where you go and all the awesome stuff you explore out there.
        And I’ve only been to NYC once,and I absolutely fell in love with it! One of my dreams is to go to NYC for New Years!

      4. I will definitely blog all about my trip to San Fran! My uncle owns a restaurant out there, so I’m hoping this is the first of many trips to visit! πŸ™‚ And NYC is fabulous. I absolutely love the city- it’s probably the only reason I come home from school! Besides family of course, haha πŸ™‚ I’ve never been to Georgia, but I’d like to visit there one day!

      5. Well hey,maybe one day you should visit me in GA and I’ll visit you in NYC πŸ˜€ That would be awesome! I’m so excited that blogging has allowed me to open up and make new frs from all over the world. It’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

